Why study hunter-gatherer-foraging societies in the present day?


To survive the zombie apocalypse.

 

DUH.

=)

This was in answer to a discussion question on my online anthropology 201 board. I’m composing the real assignment on the other tab. Hope I get some laughs.

So, I got a job today. It’s a bar/grille/pool hall (yes, one long huge room, tables, bar and pool tables as far as the eye can see) hiring servers and barbacks with the potential for advancement to bartending.

I don’t want to work bartending hours, not just right now. Later, after I graduate in May, sure. Transportation isn’t an issue, I can get rides there or take a cab since it’s too far to walk but no so far that I’d be losing copious amounts of money. I’m at 55 days of sobriety and while bartending itself is never an issue, or waiting tables, it’s the hours. Working at 4, 5, 6 or 7 cuts into family dinner time, meals I prepare and would place a drain on trying to juggle 5 classes and rebuilding my home life with my family. I like being at home in the evenings and playing board games on Friday nights. Like Ultimate Scrabble. 2 teams 14 letters apiece. Death Match.

So, I’m debating what kind of schedule to ask for. Days with a double here or there? 3 doubles and just try and fit everything in when I can? Weekends or weekdays?

I like the energy of the place, the smiles on the hiring FOH manager’s face that didn’t match the can of red bull and ashtray full of cigarette butts sitting next to a humming laptop and stacks of paperwork, beer distributor pamphlets, menu drafts and applications.

I found them on Facebook and realized that despite an early cattle call on November 1st of last year, they were just now opening in a week’s time, everything willing. I sent in a resume (turns out I completely redid a skills based resume over my F/B resume and had to pull a F/B resume and references out of my nose in 20 minutes) and, BAM. Next morning, a phone call to come in, and a time of 2pm today was agreed upon.

I’m going to sit on it and see what kind of schedule they give me, how to keep cooking and doing the family food budget while I can, and how to keep bridges constructed as I plunge back into the industry that contributed to and disappeared in the four long benders that made up my raging alcoholic adult life.

I feel like, though it was meant to be that I wound up there and got hired on the spot. We’ll see.

!M!

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

Leave a Reply

