Throwbacks.


Listening to: Rihanna “Who’s Dat Chick” –Don’t hate, I’m a big DJ Guetta fan and I remember when it seems like a hundred years ago “Love Takes Over” and “Love is Gone” and “World is Mine” came out. Each brings back specific memories of my clubbin’ days and I like them for it. I guess that’s why current pop/A-C charts are iconic, they make you remember your life vividly.

I wonder what that’s like for the hard rock fan. My rock days started in 90’s alternative so that’s life from age 5-13. Do country and rock people get the same flow of emotions from remembering certain “iconic” songs throughout their lifetime?

And for throwbacks, I’m listening to older Prince, Pet Shop Boys, and Yes! songs. In my anthropology class we’re discussing how stuff gets recycled, and I commented on Lady Gaga really, for all the hype, doing nothing new. Outrageous clothing to keep her in the media’s eye, hooks that everyone will remember (I vaguely remember googling “disco stick” because I had no idea she was doing music after the “Just Dance” phase of her life, just to get to her “PokerFace” lyrics), and, if you watch footage of her concerts, a heartwarming message to the underdog. She was doing this ultrasmarmy “if you were picked on for being too fat, or too thin, or a queer, or straight, this song is for you” etcetera and so forth and your mom to get everyone to be like “she means SO MUCH eeeeek to me *squeal*!”. Consider her song titles are all about “monsters” that somehow her fans can relate to (I view her slightly above Gwyneth’s GOOP), well, she made herself famous. Vocal talent just helps.

But it’s all the same. Anyone remember, oh, Madonna on a tank, getting crazy on a latte?  At least Gaga can crawl around in lingerie with a chandelier on her head and make it look crazybeautiful. And people for the next decade can mix up a salad bowl, some duct tape, lightning bolt scars, glowing giant G-tips and a few padlocks (glasses….remember the cigarette glasses?) for Halloween, say they’re Ross Perot and BAM! “Wow, that is so Gaga!”

Reading: I really would like to read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, new Scott Westerfeld, all the Harry Potter (again), the new “Immortals”…gosh, I haven’t been to the library in ages and read a book for pleasure in almost as long. I get by reading CRACKED articles.

I’m struggling in macroeconomics. But my tax return and unemployment came in on the same day AND a week early, so I woke up $2,000 richer. –YES–! How to pour it back into the economy?

Now, to distribute funds to my three debts (done by March), ADSAP (signed up for in April), the DMV (May) and whoever winds up insuring me with non-owner’s SR-22 (or regular SR-22 if I could just buy a car then) . Because my parents aren’t going to offer to pick me up from a bar at 4am. Done and dusted, ain’t happening. It’s embarrassing as hell, I am perfectly capable of calling a cab, but my mom’s “you’re grown and independent (almost) yaddda yadda BUT YOU’RE STILL MY LITTLE BOY” streak flares up in the weirdest times and ways.

Taco casserole for dinner. Yum. Easy-peasy dishes get cooked on nights I have to work cuz I can throw them on and leave. Elaborate stuff gets made on days when I’m not slurping coffee like it’s going out of style and passing around visine to defeat the formidable flow of face smoke.

Off to more Econ and work today and tomorrow. If anyone knows how to do “roll call” listings that I can keep on my sidebar as well as post my subscriptions by name/day updated please let me know. I haven’t do Web publishing since Frontpage had just come out and Flash was on the horizon so I’m behind on CSS. What is that, like, communist DSS or something?

!M!

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

Leave a Reply

