the simple joys of Saturday


With it not being balls-to-the-wall at the bar tonight, me, DD and James were “vibing” as I call it, feeding off each other’s energy and the energy of the crowd, staying constantly in motion or pausing to chitchat with guests, waiting for it to get slammed like it should have on a busy night.

James is both sweet and hardworking, with a healthy dose of common sense, so DD and I were trying to polish some rough edges on his bar knowledge and service, and he was in one corner often feeding shots to a gaggle of girls and cougars who wanted a bite outta him.

DD had the other side of the bar most of the evening vibing with a group she imported from her last bar. I watched the far end of the bar and the service printer and a group of my own people I was waiting on. We circled around each other when business came in waves. I slapped her ass repeatedly throughout the evening and she and James were booty popping at some point in time. At another time she told me about how she tried to dance on the bar at her last job but with the high bar and low ceiling, she instead wound up doing a “duckwalk” strip tease. I can’t imagine someone pulling this off but she did and even gave me a little preview. I mentioned how I had to do a lot of duck walking to make my jeans stretch in all the right places. I had a lot of fun that night, me and a group of friends/coworkers making money and doing our job but still having the time to dance, laugh, sing, crack jokes and be utter goofballs.

And then there were the people, a girl who would hand me a ten and beg me to do a fruity drink for her with “no Jager, cinnamon or tequila”, and what I didn’t use was my tip. From schnapps based drinks to fruity shots to my signature Fruit Punches or Fun Dips, she danced the night away with her friends and my boss. Peach was getting into the energetic fray with a wicked buzz, feeding Everclear soaked cherries to people and playing song after song. I just stood in the middle, floating around to wherever we were the busiest or DD or James were backed up the most, taking it all in.

I love my job.

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

One comment

  1. I love nights like this. Glad you had a good one after all the drama.

Leave a Reply

