Life is just…..easier, when you’re gone


So with Momma Bear gone, I suspect that this past weekend at the Pub went much easier than it normally would have. Had it not been tipshare it would have just been something else that nailed her to the wall.

I worked Wednesday and Thursday nights, but with little sleep as the amount of schoolwork I had grew…then after closing and getting home at 4:30 am on Friday I had to try and go to sleep (impossible with the caffeine working on me), then go to work to be there at 10am for a meeting. We met with the inventory guys, were tested on our pours (we all did great), discussed computer issues, reviewed some paperwork to reveal issues with transferring tabs between the bar and servers, and then I sat down to do homework since it was 1pm and I wasn’t going to try, go home, take a nap, and then come back up in traffic to be there at 4.

Since Momma Bear isn’t here I did service bar Friday night so I set that up, finished shift change, checked in the liquor order, organized our brand spanking new liquor closet (w00p woop!), went over some stuff with Peach and got started.

I DO NOT DO WELL RUNNING ON NO SLEEP!

I did my job well, but with computer issues every 27 seconds, and some douchcanoe barking at me for not letting him start a tab since he left his credit card at home, plus him not tipping me for every order he had, and just general incidences of assholery (including being called an asshole by someone because they had to wait on a shot they ordered), I was close to tears at 8pm. Yes, I almost broke down and just bawled like a baby.

Then he went away, moved to a table and terrorized someone else. I saw fun familiar faces, the DJ was pumping up some good dance music, and I felt myself relax and the tension melt away. We cleaned out the bar in record time, made decent money for people just NOT TIPPING FOR SHIT (!), and the night got better. Even though I was as cranky as a three year old, we held it together and rocked out (duh).

But yeah, note to self, even as school continues to ramp up in its demands on my time, I have to take care of myself sleep-wise or I just might smash a bottle of Patron (it’s got such a heavy sturdy glass bottom, yo) over the head of the next tweedledipshit that makes my life miserable!

And apparently, I’m a shift manager now…..um, huh? Me, Hot Stuff and Gary Cooper apparently now have closing privileges so Peach can have her days off, have an office day undisturbed, and can work a halfday on Wednesday so she can do pool league. I don’t suspect this is going to go well with my coworkers, I mean, I didn’t talk anyone down to get this honor, and the process isn’t horrific compared to what I normally do, I just offered that since I was the only childless and single bartender that if she needed a break, to hit me up first because I don’t have to run home to catch a nap before I deal with kids, a spouse, etc., and so forth.

But apparently Gary having a card now isn’t the best thing in the world for everyone, especially DD.

So, yes, sleep. And possible drama waiting for me on Wednesday. Whoo hoo! Another day in paradise!

~M~

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

2 comments

  1. 1. Every increase in responsibility must come with a raise in pay.

    2. If you can find a way to stay up for about 36 hours or so you’ll start seeing stuff. It’s awesome because it’s easily one of the best highs on earth, it’s free, and you can end the ride any time you want to.

  2. Thank you for the comment, Jaded! Sadly in today’s day and age and the situation in my city, I am happy for a job that causes me relatively no stress, makes good money, and is flexible to my school needs. And while being a shift manager while bartending isn’t anything out of the ordinary in pay increase, I *do* get overtime, no questions asked. Because the businessman whose money funds my job is an actual, real, honest to god businessman, he believes in things like….paying people for the time they work! I know, novel concept! When he saw the schedule and realized that his GM was choosing to keep a small crew that works 4 12’s and that crew is her A-team, he authorized the overage in hours and he eats that cost weekly. My hours are always untampered and I actually, yes get a decent paycheck.

    I find it quite sad (?) that I’m rejoicing over, for once, getting paid my dues! That’s the best I can hope for.

Leave a Reply

