Love…and love…


Bob and Melissa are a cute couple. They are both mid forty-somethings: him a big chunky guy with a huge smile and a scar down his buzzed skull where surgery left him advised to never drink again, for fear of exacerbating some condition with lots of Latin and the words “level three” and “tumor” in it. She is a gorgeous, sundress and sandals type of tanned blonde, who met Bob at a friend’s house some months after her husband died in a car accident after twenty years of marriage.

They are in love. He worships the ground she walks on and she’ll snuggle up to him as they watch NASCAR, his diet soda in one hand, a massive hand cradling her against his chest, a bucket of beer by her left hand, bottles gradually emptied and turned upside down in the melting ice. His face lights up when she joins him after getting stuck in traffic, she laughs and blushes when he compliments her. They are two ordinary people made beautiful by what they have.

Heineken and House Chard don’t have love. What they have, I don’t know. She is a petite blonde, sundress and sandals with a beautiful complexion. He towers over her, broad and thick, someone you wouldn’t want to meet in a dark alley. They erupted when Heineken offered to buy a shot for Eiffel last night and House Chard turned ugly. “Tell me you FUCKING love me!” she spits out the words like rapid-firing sunflower seeds, backing him against a wall, staring a yard up into his eyes.

“Tell me you FUCKING love me, and ONLY ME!”

He meets her gaze for a minute, then lowers it: “I love you” comes out strangled and muttered. I don’t have to look into his eyes any longer to hear them sweep from side to side looking for an escape route.

I have seen love. Everytime I think it’s not there for me, a pipe dream spitting out smoke I try to catch with my hands, I remember people like Bob and Melissa. And it makes me smile a little. Hey now, hey now, don’t dream it’s over….

And now, for a song about love by the most attractive set of pipes I’ve seen in a long time, I give to you “Rolling In The Deep” by Adele (I love the chorus):  

 

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

2 comments

  1. I see love and I see dysfunction and I’m always amazed that people are willing to settle for dysfunction.

    This song is simply amazing. I like her other stuff, but this song (mostly her voice) shivers my timbers.

  2. Laura

    Fabulous voice and song, thanks for sharing. Watched this video yesterday then heard it today on a progressive local rock station that plays a lot of new and indie artists.

Leave a Reply

