Couples Therapy


“Henry, hi! It’s a pleasure to meet you!” I shook the burly mechanic’s hand, smiling at him and his wife Barbara (“Babs” as I affectionately nicknamed her). “I see she dragged you away from the race to come on out tonight?”

He smiled, slightly uncomfortable in the pool hall as Babs nailed the 3 ball into a corner pocket. “Yeah, not much of a going-out person but she said she had so much fun here I figured I’d see what it’d be all about.”

I pulled the Coors out of the bucket, popped off the lid and set it on a coaster wrapped in a napkin as he turned his attention back to the game.

***

I like waiting on couples or when regulars bring in the spouse or significant other to join them at the Pub. For one, the small number of our staff are predominantly very beautiful, confident and outgoing women, but none are tramps, alkies or druggies. Knowing that a man is spending time at our bar, I like that the female half of the partnership is made to feel secure in the same place as her husband and has just as much fun, perhaps even venturing out on her own or with a group of friends to the Pub without the man. There’s no worry about wandering eyes when she receives just as much excellent service, good drinks and has a great time just like the other half without worrying for his fidelity.

There’s also little chance for lady drama when the wife feels just at home as the guy does, and vice versa. They get to see what brings the half out on a Friday night and relax, while it’s unstated yet true: if someone brings his or her spouse to the same bar he or she likes to frequent, there’s little to no chance that he or she will bring the participant in adultery to this place as well…it’s security. We avoid the drama by welcoming both equally.

Third, it’s always fun to poke fun at both sides, letting the couples spark off each other in the wake of my catty yet classy teasing. They both feel welcome to our crazy family.

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

One comment

  1. That’s great unless they are *that* couple…you know…the one that always fights in the bar and drags everyone into it. I hate that shit.

Leave a Reply

