I told you to stay in your lane but you just jumped in traffic


It has been a harsh 48 hours so let’s deconstruct why my stomach is churning about the thought of going to work.

One barking AGM demanding I (a) serve (on a Thursday night, the one bar shift I begged to keep above all and any else) and (b) go rescue this new girl who I haven’t thought of a name for in her section. She was at that point in the weeds where she couldn’t even talk and was completely freaking out. Looking at her sales records, she did more than I have on a Thursday night, being very new, and I know a lot of her upset came from NOT being on top of her game….you know, the work-perfectionists, who get upset because they don’t know the sodas, the wine list, the sides, table numbers, plates and prices off the top of their head, etc.?

He yells at me to get her out of the weeds. Do not yell at me to get someone out of the weeds and then yell some more when I ask how. I mean, is she fired? Do I completely take over her section? Is it supposed to be a learning process that will help her grow? Do I kick her out the front door, grab her server book and act like nothing happened?

So, we baby step it. I can turn into a block of ice, a psychotic ostrich or a nurturing type figure on a moment’s notice. I picked nurturing over the ice and ostrich and it went like this:

ME: ok, so where do you need help.

TNG (the new girl) sobbing, “Um, I don’t know….”

ME: (sigh….this is so not worth the 1/3rd of what I should be making bartending right now) OK, what is he drinking?

TNG: Bud Light Lime.

ME: OK, so what we’re going to do is go get him a Bud Light Lime from the bar, take it to him, and then clean out his ashtray. Do not worry about anything else or anyone else until that’s done, OK?

TNG: (nods)

ME: (hugging her) OK, pretend my hug is scotch tape and keep it together. Let’s go.

It took about an hour to gain total control. Of course, the front section (DD’s section) which I was supposed to take over never got sat and Bob tells her to split tips with me down the middle: ($180 on 978 in sales, after tipout meant I walked wth 79….the bartenders did 220 apiece after tipout. Grrface)

And then the joy of watching a lot of my good tipping regulars get ignored. Sit. Sit. Sit. Get ignored.

Q our KM blew up on both Eiffel and DD (who was the server who wound up bartending) for ignoring customers and her. It makes perfect sense. A huge beef at our place is that servers will start tabs with people who will then sit at the bar and the bartender loses real estate, money, time and possibly booze trying to keep their drink full and the server’s tab updated, plus all of the “Ring in that no make!”s you hear all night. It’s a bit of inconvenience. So, what did Q do? She didn’t order drinks through her server, and then got ignored at the bar and finally lost it.

So we are at Eiffel’s control issues and the alleged getting me kicked off the bar, Dean’s attitude, Class-act’s snarky dislike for everyone, allegations of theft, and I’ve shown such growth and still can’t get/keep a bar shift to save my life. wtf?! It’s like they keep giving them chances and forgiving their actions and meanwhile I went from making $900 a week bartending to $500 a week with both, and less if I’m down to one bar shift.

Ugh, this place stresses me out. I cannot handle it if Peach is in a bad mood.

More about covering at another bar (which I loved) later =)

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

2 comments

  1. Cordelia

    Sometimes, the best thing you can do is say No. At Club Apple i was a ‘yes man’ to my detriment. at one point i had to start straight up telling the managers no. I kept my bar shifts, became a bar tender and generally kicked much ass. I was always there to lend a helping hand, but not when it cut into my money…for real

  2. I hate working with FNGs. Some have potential and you know they will get it eventually, but others are a waste of time. Within 20 minutes you know they should be kicked out the door because they are dragging everyone down with them.

    Another blogger I read had this theme and I HATE it. The print is too small for my tired old eyes to read.

Leave a Reply

