Awww Hell Naw!


So with Eiffel gone, Dawn is covering her Thursday. Awesomeness, I love working with her! =)

A new girl will have an extra shift by working on Friday, for DD and DD will then cover Eiffel’s Friday night shift.

Who will do Saturday nights? Well, logically, I would be moved back onto the bar in the wake of Eiffel’s quitting and the same new girl could do Saturdays. She gets five nights, the rest of us get four to five shifts, no biggie.

So when I realized that the new day bartender, O., will be working Saturday nights and I am under no consideration for a permanent switch to the bar, who sucks, looks trashy, and isn’t very bright, but does have a brilliant sweet personality and a good hustle…..yeah, I’m pissed. I’ve been waiting in the wings and I watched someone jump right……..in…..

No, she can learn to serve and work on Saturday nights on the floor and I’ll bartend on Saturdays. Since every bartender but Dawn waits tables at least once a week or has waited tables in the past when needed…oh, and Gary, but he does work the slowest shifts and daytimes primarily, so that seems a fair trade in this place.

Then I heard the owner say when Peach recommended a bartender who would be imported by Dawn to cover Eiffel’s Friday/Saturday night shifts, he immediately said “no, we have people who have worked here since day one who should have primary consideration, not give the two busiest nights to the newest kid on the block”…..to which Peach essentially brushed off. She’s totally OK with hiring a *shudder* flair bartender to move right on in. Fuck that. I hate flair bartenders that I have ever had to work with or get served by. This is not a performance space, it’s a sports bar where moneyed wealth meets Dixie flags and Coogi jeans. Someone who is used to putting on a show and getting looked at and cheered on doesn’t seem big on ‘team playing’. I can flip some shakers but, hell, really? Hiring someone like that? Does he even understand high volume if he can afford to dick around? I respect the time, energy and skill but this bar doesn’t need a performer, it needs someone fast with great personality and great teamwork skills.

Thanks a lot. Love the staff loyalty.

I bartended last night, Saturday for Eiffel and I did awesome, made great money and essentially loved being there. So hopefully me on Saturday versus O. on Friday’s performance will convince Peach and Bob to consider moving me back rather than just bumping new girl up.

Definitely pissed.

Definitely, fucking, pissed.

 

 

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

One comment

  1. I’d be pissed too. Our new girl has tried to take over my server shifts and demote me to hostess. Uh…don’t think so. I wasn’t hired as a hostess, she was.

Leave a Reply

