My hugs are like scotch tape…


I had to explain what being in the weeds meant to a new server. What does in the weeds mean to you? I explained that it’s either based on you or an external event. On you, it’s when you’re juggling 12 balls and drop one. And then another.  More than three and you’re bad off, more than 6, you’re section turns into Chernobyl.

An external event is a shirt or garment with a thread unraveling that gets pulled and yanked and puckers up and twists and tangles. You didn’t pull it but you have to smooth everything over.

I remember my post from my last serving shift two weeks ago. I hate being in the weeds, normally I stomp all over them. I allowed my emotions to cause a block that threw the rational processes from the rails.

And last night I decided I would keep a level head.

I didn’t make super great money but I found myself being efficient and bored a lot, paying close attention to my section and maximizing my income for as slow as it was. Even when I found myself being bored I paced my steps and my words so I didn’t throw my brain into a tizzy.

It was awesome.

And tonight will be awesomer because Saturdays are slow until, it’s, well, overflowing. 6-9:15, boring. 9:15-9:30, OH MY HOLY FUCK WHERE DID EVERYONE COME FROM!?’

Have a great weekend everyone!

~M~

 

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

3 comments

  1. I like your example of juggling . . . for me “being in the weeds” means juggling twelve balls with no problem, then someone tosses you yet another one, adds two more, and another … and suddenly you’re in the weeds.

  2. Michael….it’s a delight to know that you’re reading my serflike blog! Thanks for commenting! I did want to differentiate between being weeded from within (forgetting something as a bartender or server) and from without (getting extra tables outside of your section).

    How are you doing?

  3. Sometimes I can’t get my shit together, but it’s usually excessive neediness from a table that weeds me.

Leave a Reply

