Midlife crisis…..


So, I am not sure why I have this blog. It started originally as a couponing website while I embarked on an 8/30/600 challenge, to feed 8 people in my house for 30 days on 600 dollars, less than half of our original grocery budget. I was doing so to raise money after my previous job, the Fish Haus, had closed.

The principle was about “saving”, my original artwork of calculators and thus, my old internet handle and the concept of couponing merged into “Saving Malachi”. Yes, dreadfully emo-gothic band-name possibilities aside, it was a good name.

And then it morphed into my discussions of work, bitching and happiness, as I was part of the opening crew at a huge bar in my hometown. My blog saved me from crushing boredom and overwhelming stress as I started piecing together my identity after years of rampant alcoholism and drug use.

Now…..I don’t know what I want it to be.

The final post of the Banquet Manager actually made me tear up a little bit, I fucking hate saying goodbye and his was one of the first blogs I ever read, back in the day of the shitty tipper database at BitterWaitress.Com and the Raging Server. Maybe this is the time to call it quits after six months…..this blog helped save me….what next?

I’m going to take a few days and think about what direction I want to go in. I would appreciate any and all readers weighing in on what they like about my blog, what they don’t like, I mean, hell, criticism doesn’t really bother me and I respect EVERY ONE on my blogroll for their writing ability and stories they share every day into the f/b blogosphere.

 

Love,

Malachi.

 

 

About Malachi the Drink Slinger

Finally transferring to that four year school in January, my goals made, my life set, the blinders dropped, my past signed and sealed, my future bright and airy, a writer, a thinker, a feeler, someone who is enthralled by beauty, an artist worth slightly more than two shits, a lover, a fighter, a person on the way to become the person I have always wanted to be....

One comment

  1. I know the boat that you’re in. I’ve written very, very, little in my blog over the last two months and with my focus on leaving the industry… I also wonder what to do next. You have a witty and observant writing style and I think it would be a shame to just let your blog ‘go’. I’ve come to realize that I have enough stories gathered over the years to continue to shock, amuse, and amaze readers from time to time. You most certainly have the same. There are also plenty of articles and posts written by others on the web that can be commented or expounded upon with your own blog.. that’s something else I plan to do. You’ve put a lot of time into your blog.. I wouldn’t give it up just yet because it’s a good creative outlet. If you’re tired of working on it… then step away.. but don’t let it go entirely. Just my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

